Rappin’ It Up

This week I was tasked with determining an effective way to share my findings on my Genius Hour Project with classmates. My rapping abilities are up there with Nicki and Iggy, so I’m thinking I’ll “rapidly and rhythmically [recite lyrics about personal learning devices] over a prerecorded, electronic instrumental backing.”

This is how I’ll start my rap: “Yo, yo, yo. My name’s Sarah but you can call me Lil Biggz. I’m gonna tell you how to best use technology (emphasis on the g).” That’s all I have so far. On a more serious note, if the rap doesn’t come to fruition by next week, I will present my research via an (1) infographic poster (using a site like Glogster or Piktochart) or (2) a video using a tool like Animoto.

I was also charged to create a rubric for my project. How do I want to be graded? I’ve always lived for rubrics – it’s the best way to know exactly what your teacher wants and expects from you. Needless to say, creating your own rubric is a lofty task that requires deep thought. ‘Sarah’s Genius Hour Project Rubric’ is featured below.

Question Asks a relevant question. YesNo
Knowledge Building (Research) Demonstrates in-depth project research through the use of various sources (i.e.: websites, interviews, etc.) of high quality. PoorAverageExcellent
Idea Development (Critical Thinking) Interprets information and knowledge to create new ideas and questions. Effectively analyzes and evaluates research to create a final product. PoorAverageExcellent
Presentation of Answers (Problem Solving) Creates a useful and engaging presentation that effectively summarizes major points. PoorAverageExcellent
Originality/Value/Style of Presentation (Authentic Learning) Effectively illustrates knowledge through a professional but unique medium. PoorAverageExcellent
Professionalism & Commitment (Blog) Regularly updates blog to demonstrate continued research and development of project. Student also presents research in an entertaining manner (posts are enjoyable to read). PoorAverageExcellent

Rubric adapted from the Buck Institute of Education.

Leave a Reply

